Ingress | Information

Ingress – Inspection of your cable television system due to suspected radiated emission

 

What does ingress mean?

In Switzerland, the Federal Office of Communications OFCOM determines the guidelines applicable to radiated emission limits. If your installation is causing signal disturbances (ingress), then the defined limits are possibly being exceeded.

 
 

What should I do?

  • We will inform you in writing if ingress is suspected at your property
  • Contact the technician named in the letter to arrange an appointment
  • The technician will investigate what is causing the disturbance and how it can be eliminated
 
 

Good to know

  • The on-site investigation and any fault elimination required will not cost you anything*
  • Ingress can lead to TV or radio reception problems, but also to problems with Internet transmission or telephone conversations
  • Our network is permanently and systematically monitored for faults. If an alarm goes off, a technician is instructed to perform on-site measurements and to eliminate the source of the fault if at all possible.

* Provided that there has been no wanton destruction of the network infrastructure or terminals, you will not have any financial obligations.

Technicians with ID

Please note that our technicians can identify themselves at all times with a company ID from UPC. Please do not hesitate to ask to see this ID if you have any doubts.

 
 
 
 
 
 

Questions and answers

Why have I been sent a letter on the topic of ingress?

While performing measurements in your property, a upc cablecom technician noticed some signal disturbances which could also exceed the guidelines set by the Federal Office of Communications OFCOM. This can lead to TV or radio reception problems, but also to problems with Internet transmission or telephone conversations.

It is necessary to perform an on-site inspection of the installation in order to accurately determine likely sources of the fault. It is entirely possible that the fault is not in your home but perhaps in your neighbour's apartment or property. It is therefore possible that we will also have to look for the sources of the fault there. If this is the case, we will have given the same message to your neighbours.

What might be causing the ingress disturbance?

Typical causes of ingress are, for example, poorly shielded or defective cables connecting aerial outlets and terminals. However, the cause could also be attributable to very different reasons, e.g. plugs that are not connected properly, aerial outlets that were not installed by a professional or incorrectly connected terminals. In order to find out the actual reason for the fault, it is therefore absolutely essential to perform an on-site inspection of your installation.

How did UPC become aware of the disturbance?

Our network is permanently and systematically monitored for faults. If an alarm goes off, a technician is instructed to perform on-site measurements and to eliminate the source of the fault if at all possible.

What is the mRic Order ID referred to in the letter?

The mRic Order ID is an internal processing number. You will find your mRic Order ID in the letter we sent you about ingress. This ID helps us to check the status of your incident at any time and to inform you correctly. Please mention this number when contacting our customer service or our technicians.

I do not use UPC but I have still received a letter. Why?

Even inactive or only partially complete domestic installations can be a source of ingress. Even if there is no cable connection socket in your apartment or house, or if there is one which you do not use, it could still be the source of the fault. The source can even be identified if this is the case by conducting a brief on-site investigation. It goes without saying that you will not be liable for any associated costs.

 
 
 

Contact

There are several ways of contacting us. Choose you preferred method.

 
 

Optimise your WLAN!

Tips, tricks and useful information about your wireless Internet connection.

 
 

Our apps

Watch television while you are out and about, view your bills and much more: Download our apps and stay connected on the go.

Ingress | Informations

Ingress – Contrôle de l’installation de votre télévision par câble en cas de présence possible d’interférences

 

Que signifie le terme « Ingress » ?

En Suisse, l'Office fédéral de la communication OFCOM édicte les différentes directives applicables en termes de seuils d’interférences (Ingress). Lorsque votre installation provoque des perturbations au niveau du signal, les valeurs limites prescrites sont éventuellement dépassées.

 
 

Que dois-je faire ?

  • Nous vous informons par écrit si nous pensons que vous pourriez être la cause possible d’interférences
  • Contactez le technicien mentionné dans ce courrier, afin de fixer un rendez-vous
  • Le technicien vérifie ce qui provoque les interférences et réfléchie à la manière de les éliminer
 
 

Bon à savoir

  • Aucun frais ne vous sera facturé pour la vérification et, le cas échéant, la réparation*
  • Les interférences (Ingress) provoquent des perturbations au niveau de la réception TV et radio, de la connexion Internet et des conversations téléphoniques
  • Ces interférences présentes sur notre réseau sont constamment et systématiquement surveillées. En cas d'alarme, un technicien est dépêché pour prendre des mesures sur place et, si possible, éliminer la source de la perturbation.

* Pour autant qu'il n'y ait pas de destruction malintentionnée de l'infrastructure de réseau ou des terminaux, vous n'êtes soumis à aucun engagement financier.

Techniciens UPC

Nos techniciens peuvent prouver leur identité à tout moment, au moyen de leur carte d'entreprise de UPC. En cas de doute, n’hésitez pas à demander à voir ce document.

 
 
 
 
 
 

Questions et réponses

Pourquoi un courrier m'a-t-il été envoyé au sujet des interférences (Ingress)?

Lors de la prise de mesures dans votre immeuble, un technicien de upc cablecom a détecté des perturbations au niveau du signal, qui pourraient dépasser le seuil défini par les directives de l'Office fédéral de la communication (OFCOM). Il en résulte des perturbations au niveau de la réception TV ou radio, mais aussi de la connexion Internet et des conversations téléphoniques.

Pour déterminer avec exactitude la source des interférences, une vérification de l'installation est nécessaire sur place. Il est bien possible que la perturbation ne provienne pas de chez vous, mais peut-être de l'appartement ou de l'immeuble voisin, ce qui nous amènerait à effectuer des recherches pour identifier la source des interférences. Le cas échéant, nous transmettrons à vos voisins un message de même teneur.

Quelles pourraient être les causes des interférences (Ingress) ?

Les causes typiques d’interférences (Ingress) sont par exemple des câbles de raccordement mal protégés ou défectueux entre la prise d'antenne et les terminaux. Elles peuvent aussi être d'une toute autre nature, par exemple une prise pas assez enfoncée, une prise d'antenne montée sans connaissances professionnelles ou des terminaux mal raccordés. Pour définir les causes exactes des interférences, il est donc indispensable de vérifier votre installation sur place.

Comment UPC a-t-elle été rendue attentive aux interférences?

La présence d’interférences sur notre réseau est constamment et systématiquement surveillée. En cas d'alarme, un technicien est dépêché pour prendre des mesures sur place et, si possible, éliminer la source de ces interférences.

Que représente le mRic Order ID indiqué dans le courrier ?

Le mRic Order ID est un numéro de dossier interne. Vous trouverez votre mRic Order ID dans le courrier que nous vous avons envoyé au sujet des interférences (Ingress).  Cet ID nous permet de consulter à tout moment l'état de votre installation et de vous informer rapidement et correctement en cas de questions. Veuillez indiquer ce numéro lorsque vous contactez notre service clients ou nos techniciens.

Je n'utilise pas UPC et j'ai quand même reçu un courrier. Pourquoi ?

Même une installation domestique inactive ou partiellement achevée peut être la source d’interférences (Ingress). Même si vous ne possédez pas de prise au raccordement câblé dans votre appartement ou votre maison ou si vous ne l'utilisez pas, une source de d’interférences peut se trouver chez vous. Une brève vérification effectuée sur place permet d'identifier les causes, dans ce cas également. Bien entendu, sans aucuns frais pour vous.

 
 
 

Contact

Vous avez plusieurs possibilités pour prendre contact avec nous. Choisissez celle que vous préférez.

 
 

Optimisez votre WLAN !

Conseils, astuces et informations importantes sur la connexion Internet sans fil et comment optimiser votre WLAN.

 
 

Nos apps

Regardez la TV ou consultez vos factures hors de chez vous, et bien plus encore: téléchargez nos apps pour être connecté partout.